The Get Real Blog


The Future of Leadership
October 8, 2010, 5:10 am
Filed under: Communication | Tags: ,

Your future can only be bright if you can see it as illumined.  As you look into the negative influences of the past, the future becomes cynical as well. This may sound obvious and yet many of us still get stuck. How do I know? I am a “listener” of language. There are generally two kinds of communication. One is a communication of what went wrong that carries a sense of being victimized from the things that didn’t work. The other is a conversation of possibility. I am not here to judge or make either position wrong. In a way, it’s as if I am a scientist of communication. Having listened to many hundreds of leaders create their future, it’s become obvious to me, which one will actually create a magnificent future and those that won’t.

As you accept that living in the past is debilitating your ability to create more powerful results, an internal freedom emerges. This freedom is steeped in discipline and an inner desire to create a more compelling future. In fact, I encourage us to consider having a future that is so big that you have no idea how to actually fulfill on it. I recommend you declare a future that makes you into a bigger more loving leader than you could ever imagine yourself to be. That future will actually “want” YOU. It will pull you into the future.

Now to do that, you must spend less time telling yourself about how “right” you are about what “wronged” you. It has no value really. It helps us survive at best and most leaders I know are not interested in surviving. Most leaders I know are interested in making a difference. Once you have indentified a future worthy of your attention, then I encourage you to share it with people. I don’t mean talk about it. I mean share it until is sinks into the flesh of your heart. I want you to tell people about your compelling future until your voice hurts from talking about it. Why? Because you then won’t be talking about the crap you don’t like about the past. It propels you into the future.

Consider the great leaders of our past. They all had a big vision and most of them were pretty good about telling others about it. When JFK suggested putting a “man on the moon before the end of the decade” he (and NASA) had no idea “how” to do that. The how will come to you as you lean into your future. Walt Disney was another one that was amazing at seeing something and moving his life in that direction. Disneyland was a bare lot at one point and that is not what Walt was seeing. He saw the whole thing before his very eyes and then he shared it with anyone that would listen.

So, today; create a future for YOU and begin living into it. What will it be? It will be whatever you say it is. Make it big and bold and speak it into existence. As you do that, begin to notice what happens in your body, mind and Soul. Some of us may feel nervous. That’s ok too as it’s a newer focus. Many of us will feel the energy pulse through the veins of creation as you share the Future of Leadership with those around you.

As always, I love hearing from YOU on what you are making happen.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Finally, Stephen, after all our conversations, I am leaning into my future. And I am talking, talking, talking about it. I have no idea how leaving my current situation and moving to a new company will look. But I am ready to take it on!
Thank you for your guidance and loving support!

Comment by Penney Carruth

Hey Penney,

all that talking was necessary for clarity and it has you positioned now to rock. And you will do create beautifully in your new company. They are blessed to have you.

stephen

Comment by Stephen McGhee




Leave a comment