The Get Real Blog


The Journey of Leadership
November 4, 2010, 5:00 am
Filed under: Commitment, Leadership | Tags: , ,

If I don’t love what I am doing, I ought not to do it at all. Why? Because if I am doing something because I think I “have” to, my performance is weak. I know this to be true for me, as there have been times in my life where I rationalized my half enthusiastic participation in the name of appeasement. Today, and in my life; I refuse to allow that way of being to exist.

Yes, I realize that many of us reading this message feel we have no choice in what we are doing. It would be ridiculous of me to argue your point, because I too have been the master of effectively arguing for my own limitations. I don’t see it as wrong or bad. I see it as life affirming and interesting. It’s more intriguing for me when I can love the journey of leadership no matter what I am doing. If I am doing it, then on some level, I have chosen it. Right? I mean nobody is twisting my arm to do my work, or write my blog or to get my butt to the gym. I do it because I choose it. If I don’t choose it, I am not going to do it. Can you hear that?

It shows up for me all the time. I did a training climb on Monday night that I did not want to do on that very afternoon. When I showed up for the actual climb, I chose doing it. http://www.theaconcaguaproject.com This is the Journey of Leading ourselves and others to more consistent results. I find it easier than fighting my way through something I have already said YES to doing. There have been many times in my life and business that have had me on my edge!!! Once I make the decision, I am going to “Lead Into” the steps required to get the job done. I am going to love each step. I can even love the steps I hate. Make sense? If I don’t want to do what I choose to do it’s psychotic on some level.

This week I inspire you to choose the Journey of Leadership by loving something you think you don’t want to do. I am not asking you to jump up and down like a ninny although you might try that to. I am encouraging you to see how quickly you can shift the outer choice to an inner appreciation of what you are doing. I mean it. Try it. If you are going to sit in the meeting, then love it. I mean enjoy that pain in your legs after your Cross Fit training.

The world and life is full of yuck. The journey of leadership encourages YOU and me to love the YUCK too.

Have an amazing journey.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Another home run Stephen. Choosing to love what will ultimately make us happy (exercise, making a good wage, loving the person you choose to marry or partner with)sounds so easy and yet it takes your encouragement and example to get it. Thanks for sharing your tireless journey. Onward Aconcagua man.

Comment by Barbie Hall Gummin

Barbie,

I have watched you attack your life with choices. One powerful choice after another. I love that our journey exemplifies “making” a difference.

Stephen

Comment by Stephen McGhee

outer choice to inner appreciation, that,s what i want to step int o this week, that is i am going to do what i dont like to do is to accept people as they are rather than what i want them to be , i also want to ask more business with at least 5 clients this week asking for money for my program,
stephen ,i read the whole experience of acongua summit experience, how truthful your team supports you and how you have kept your word,
its my love and joy to have you as my mentor,
stephen, your words are very great inspiration to me

Comment by ASHOK NARAYAN

This reminds me that “arguing with reality” never works for me. Your powerful words are a timely reminder. I can choose to love something no matter what… even if I don’t love it in the moment i choose it. my choice or commitment will ultimately transform the feeling because it has me shifting my focus from lack to love. I don’t have to FEEL love to do this, I can just choose. This blog is as powerful as any book out there Stephen. When can we expect your next one?

Comment by Jeff

Next book that is..

Comment by Jeff




Leave a comment