The Get Real Blog


A Lesson That Changed My Life
May 4, 2009, 5:00 am
Filed under: Best of The Get Real Blog | Tags:

      When the teacher called out my name, I just sat there stunned. I could not believe what I was hearing. I was the winner of a national writing contest.  Writing in those days was easy and natural.  I was completely detached from winning anything because I don’t remember the teacher ever saying anything about a contest. I just did what I was asked to do, which was to write an essay that had to do with the future of the world. I was in the third grade. The assignment was purely fun and creative. 
 
     It was a powerful accomplishment for me… up to a point. That point was when the principle of my school called me into his office to see if I had cheated on the contest. I was dumbfounded. Can you imagine an eight year old boy being called out? I was shocked! Perhaps he had a good reason to accuse me? When I asked him why he thought I was a “liar”, he replied that the words I used in my story were beyond the 3rd grade. Words like “decade”, as one example.

zip-it

     As I walked out of the office carrying my Big Chief Notepad, I remember feeling sick inside. I felt tainted. At that moment writing translated into pain. What’s a boy to do?
 
     I can tell you what I did. I did nothing. I did as little writing as possible until I got into my forties.
 
     What is your writing contest? Where did you get a message to shut down an expression of Self ? I guarantee you it has happened to all of us at some point in time. This is not a question of blame and playing victim. Life happens and even eight year old boys are learning. The real lesson is one of awareness. How do you use those situations for your advancement? It’s not even important to understand why I chose not to write for all of those years. It matters not.  In my coaching work, I often say to people “understanding is the booby prize”  What matters is what I do now. Now is all any of us has. Leaders get that. Leadership is presence in action. Life Leaders don’t wait, delay, or make others wrong for their lot in life.
 
     Life and business Leaders create. We do it from our core. That core comes from our experiences. We create because we can and not because we have to. “What should I create?” you might ask.  How about whatever is in front of you? Right now, as if there was no tomorrow. Perhaps there is NO tomorrow? 
 
     The way I see it today is that the Principle of my school gave me a great gift. He tested my resolve for writing. It’s perfect that I did not write for many years, because his comments now inspire me when write. When I sit down to write; I think of him. I consider that all of us can thank someone for a lesson in life. Those people are often our best teachers. They test us, challenge us, temper us and help us to grow. We grow into adult men and women that can take those experiences and use them to lead others. This is the cycle that molds us into Miracle Leaders.
 
     Who are your greatest teachers?

     What did you learn?

     What will you do with that learning?    

 


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment