The Get Real Blog


A Word On Leadership
July 16, 2010, 5:00 am
Filed under: Integrity | Tags: ,

Without your word you don’t have squat as a leader. By the way, I include myself in that radical idea. Now, what does that really mean? In the area of leadership, most of us are throwing around the language of “keeping our word” like an old football. Its one of those clichés in the area of integrity that has been spoken so much, that it’s lost its power for some of us. When I am not impeccable with my word, my own word to myself gets weak inside of me. It’s as if it loses strength. When I do what I say I am going to do, then my life and business take on exponential results. When I make a bunch of mindless promises that I don’t fulfill on, I can feel the pain. I get confused and the container of my leadership springs leaks like an old rusty bucket.

Being your word is simple and it is not easy. If I promise to do something, and I follow through on the specific action, then I have delivered on my word. Now, for most of us reading this, that idea may seem simple enough. It is, until you get real honest with yourself and others on the number of things promised and not done. Changing calendar appointments, not working out (when I said I would), promising an email or phone call by a certain time, saying mistruths to get a better response from a client, or telling your kids you will be at the game and then not showing. These are leaks in leadership. The velocity and the power of YOU cannot be sustained if I/we cannot keep our word. So please know that I am not intending to depress anybody today. I am requesting that each of us get present with the possibility that keeping our word to ourselves and others is extremely important magic for trust and results. Let’s just say, that I am not here to take your inventory on the subject and I encourage you to take your own pulse on the matter.

So what to do? You have two ways to go. One, just do what you say you will do. Easy peasy…right? Wrong!!! It’s not easy because life is happening at lightening speed and sometimes things change from the time you promise to the time you are meant to deliver. Do you know what I mean? The second option is to honor your word. That means that if I cannot honor my agreement, or I am late to an appointment, or…then I owe it to myself or to others to clean up the mess I created by not doing what I said I would do. It’s clean and courageous. I don’t recommend making a habit of this tactic. However, honoring your word will align you back into your integrity. It creates a natural order of things to show awareness on the changes in our promises. It lines things up. It plugs leaks and restores velocity. At this point, and over time: your word is golden. It carries value and when you speak it is heard in the tone and vibrancy of your language.

I think this is the very reason some speakers carry an energy that opens hearts and minds. I feel this Word on Leadership is the key to successful results. This week, I want you to take a peak into the world of your word. What is your relationship to it? Could you improve it, by being more mindful of what you promise? How could you clean up any areas of past compromises of your commitments? I encourage you to do it now and not to wait, as the trajectory for a rocket result is all in the power of your language fueled by you.

Loving

Stephen


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

THE ‘ WORD ‘ from our language is as the powerful SELF we can create and commit , its very powerful in our day to day dealings, it works at a speed of rocket creates trust and credibility in the market ,
THANK U STEPHEN FOR THE POWERFUL LEADERSHIP INSIGHTS,
I WILL KEEP UP MY WORD FROM TODAY,

Comment by ashok

Thanks for your Post Stephen,

You hit on one of those things that can be hard to measure yet it makes a significant difference in out personal and professional success.

I have observed and worked to get my organizations to observe that clients understand that life is happening at lightening speed. But as soon as you realize you are not able to meet your commitment you need to name it, claim it and in your words clean it up.

Oft times the supplier that misses and cleans it up is stronger than one that doesn’t miss. Because the buyer knows what to expect when things go wrong (assuming you cleaned it up correctly).

The other layer to your post was personal integrity, and asks the question how can I be in integrity with others when not with myself. I don’t think you can. It requires discipline and mindfulness to remember to live in alignment with your values and habits.

Take Good Care,

John

Comment by John Gies

Dearest Stephen,

Yes! How powerful are One’s words? Oh My, they are so Powerful! I think you brilliantly wrapped it all up in this one sentence, when you wrote: “as the trajectory for a rocket result is all in the power of your language fueled by you.” Oh Stehen, I think I LOVE YOU for writing such words, as you place a compass in the hands of your readers to lead them to where they need to go for success. Oh Yeah and Bravo for empowering others to use their own power and potential through speaking their words of truth…integrity fuel directed action! Now, let’s put into action and use that fuel to propel us by such words and we will see absolute and immeasurable success! Or at least that is what I am counting on…as my words are all I have left to guide me to success…and I have no doubt they will again, as they have before!

Sending gratitude for another blog that ROCKS the foundation of truth!

~Nanette~

Comment by Nanette Cheval

Steve,

I am a firm believer that we get what we need at the exact moment we need it. (whether we like it or not – lol)

This is definitely true in the case of your posts. I rarely read your e-mails when they come in but I NEVER delete them. They sit in my In box patiently awaiting the right time. Then I open one – THE one that I need at that moment.

I was especially struck by the timing of opening this one. I have been struggling (and occasionally failing) with over committing and then not keeping my word. Your post below made my “opportunity to do tings better” glaringly clear and has energized me to do so.

thank you so much.

You probably do not realize how many lives you affect for the better. I am just one of thousands that you touch. Who knows how many millions benefit as a result? Please keep up this important work for as long as your calling allows. I am interested in attending any workshops or shared experiences that you may host in the future. I am struggling with finding a higher purpose for my life and I believe that with your guidance I will find it.

me ke aloha nui loa (with much love)

Johnna Kamaka Strahle

Comment by Johnna Strahle




Leave a comment